Tags

, , , , ,


As you may or may not know, along with drawing I also enjoy writing. I’ve liked to write short stories and little poems from time to time from a young age. I’ve been trying to write a novel (rather than just short stories) for years now. But I’m always getting stuck, partly because the current storyline I’ve created has a male as one of the main characters. I’ve seen quite a few reviews on published books complaining that a male character wasn’t masculine enough. Personally I believe that men and women are not different in any meaningful way. They are only socially conditioned to be different. In spite of this belief, I googled advice on how to write a male character. Here is one of the more interesting links I found.[ A Womans Guide to Writing Men | National Novel Writing Month ].

Basically, I think I agree the most with the posters who think one should write for the character as an individual, rather than on the basis of gender stereotypes and expectations. Even after reading the opposing viewpoints of some of the posters, I have never seen any unquestionable evidence supporting how men and women are meaningfully different.

So, to all those people out there who think a male character is too feminine, or a female character is too masculine: screw you!

As a side note, I’d love to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) but I was late to the party. November is half over. Maybe next year? Probably not….. T__T

