Tags

, ,


Nook

Nook Ereader

A while ago, I made a post talking about my dislike–or at least hesitancy–toward e-books. I’m still kind of iffy about them, but I think I’m warming up to the idea of them a tiny bit.

My mom recently got an Nook e-reader for Christmas and today download a book from the library. She told me they also lend out books electronically to be read on your laptop or desktop computer. I got to thinking it could be a useful tool for those time when a book is really popular and all the hard copies get checked out.

So, I downloaded the software needed to access the book on my laptop and eagerly set of in search of something to read in the online library. I found a few interesting sounding books. But the odd thing is, even though they’re electronic, you still have to place holds. Shouldn’t they have unlimited copies? Or at least quite a few copies available. I was thinking it’d be similar to when you download songs. There’s not a limited amount of electronic albums in stock, at least not that I’m aware of.

Fortunately, I did manage to find one that wasn’t already being used that I could borrow immediately. Like hard copy books, you only have 2 weeks to read them. After that, they disappear from your computer. No need to worry about late fees. Also, for the books that you have on hold, you will be notified through email to let you know when they’re available.

In short:

PROS:

-no late fees
-no need to go to the library for pick up or return
-you won’t have to worry about the book getting damaged if you’re the type who likes to carry books around with you

CONS:

-still have to place holds on popular books/limited number of books
-limited number of books you can borrow at one time (only 4)
-not all books are available as e-books

Basically, it seems like a 50/50 split on the positives and negatives. I doubt (and hope) that e-books will ever replace printed books, but they can be pretty convenient.

