Tags

, , , ,


Being fit and healthy seems to be one of the most difficult things to accomplish in this day and time–at least in the US. I really can’t speak for other countries. But it seems like the tv, internet, and bookshelves are full of tips on how to lose weight. And lately, since I am trying to lose weight, I’ve been taking notice of more and more fitness blogs.

Now, it could just be me, but I can’t seem to escape fitness blogs started by people who were never overweight in the first place. And, because of that fact, I don’t feel comfortable taking advice from them. I mean, how would they possibly know anything about losing substantial amounts of weight? They’ve never lived through it. Plus, their recommendations for exercise routines are always too strenuous, and don’t take into account people (i.e. a fatty like me) who can’t keep that pace.

Another thing. Even if I do see a fitness blog started by someone previously overweight, they never really say how long it took them to lose as much as they did. And similarly, their post-obesity workouts are too strenuous. They don’t bother with mentioning their beginner workouts very often. They’ve been at this fitness stuff for a few years and are way out of my league. Now, maybe I’m just looking at the wrong sites, but I can’t find much that’s helpful to a beginner.

And let’s face it, seeing pictures of fit people when you’re overweight is just downright depressing. It’s enough to make one suicidal, in my opinion.

I think I’m just going to have to travel this road alone. Maybe fitness is just one of those things no one else can teach you. Maybe everyone has to come into it in their own time, in their own way.

Ok, I’m done complaining for today.

