Tags

, , , , , , ,


I just thought I’d spread this information about smart phone permissions around. I’ve been wondering for the longest what some of these permissions did, and why they needed to do it. The “Read Phone and Identity” permission I found particularly suspicious. It got so bad that I stopped updating my apps and not downloading any new ones because I wasn’t sure what this particular requirement did. This post sums it up pretty nicely I think:

Deciphering Permissions: “Read Phone State and Identity”.

Even after reading this, I still feel like this information could be dangerous if it gets into the wrong hands. Who knows who could be trying to hack your phone? How do I know these ad companies aren’t selling information? But that’s probably just my paranoia acting up….Like the article says, be careful what you download.

